Webelos Transition into 2015-2016 New Cub Scout Program

Webelos TransitionOne of the biggest concerns that most of us had about the new Cub Scout program was how boys in the middle of their Webelos years would be impacted.  At first, we were told that boys would have to switch to the new program.  I, along with many of you, thought this was the wrong decision.

I am extremely happy to report that the Boy Scouts of America took our feedback and changed this.  It was actually announced during the Cub Scout training class that I attended at Philmont Scout Ranch.

Now, dens of boys who have earned their Webelos rank as of June 1, 2015 and who are moving up to the Arrow of Light rank have two options.

In option 1, Webelos dens may continue to work out of the current handbook and complete the Arrow of Light requirements as stated.

In option 2, dens will begin using the new Webelos Handbook and the Webelos Den Leader Guide for the Webelos adventures on July 1, 2015.  There are two stipulations:

Boys must complete the four defined required adventures for the Arrow of Light rank.  In addition, they must complete three elective adventures.

To satisfy the requirement for the three electives, boys may utilize EITHER the new adventure electives OR activity badges earned under the current program.  However, the activity badges must not have be used to fulfill the Webelos rank requirements.

To read more about the transition including recommendations for our LDS packs, click over to this document.

Will your pack choose option 1 or option 2?

Yours in Scouting,

P.S. Don’t forget to sign up below so you can stay up to date on the changes! And by doing so, you’ll be entered into my monthly drawing for a $25 Amazon gift card. The winner will be randomly selected from all of my subscribers.

4 thoughts on “Webelos Transition into 2015-2016 New Cub Scout Program

  1. Stacey

    Thanks for the info! I am a bear leader in an LDS pack, so the document you linked to was really helpful. Thanks again for the time and energy you put into this site.


    1. Sherry Post author

      Hi, Paula! The changes aren’t as scary as you would think, but I am glad Webelos will have the option too. The new books aren’t totally written yet, but I was able to see a sampler book which had a couple of adventures for each rank. I’m not sure that they are easier to follow, but I do know the advancement is much easier!

      Thanks for reading!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>